about yoga lifestyle

Little wisdom from the Upanishads (part one)

The Upanishads are 112 Hindu texts dating from 800 to 400 BC. These are different texts, from very small to very large, in which present the wisdom of Hindu tradition. As I read very correctly in a book, ‘I think Upanishads are the most beautiful, wiser and clearer texts that mankind holds from its cultures’, I will add to this, that it is life’s lessons written in the most beautiful way! Τhe word Upanishads means ‘at the legs of the teacher’, it is a course where the student asks the teacher and his teacher tells them everything! I think, the Upanishads is an invaluable book filled with life’s teachings. I started studying Indian texts since I felt the need to engage in jnana yoga 2 years ago and changed my life and my attitude to life!

jnana yoga, also known as Jnanamarga, is one of the several spiritual paths in Hinduism that emphasizes the “path of knowledge”,also known as the “path of self-realization. Jnana in Sanskrit means “knowledge”, and refers to any cognitive event that is correct and true over time.

This is my first article in English and I would like to write some pieces of the Upanishads that I hope will help you as much as they helped me in my pratice on and off the mat!



The world is admired in the glory of the god and in all who live and move on the earth. abandoning the temporary, find the joy in the eternity. Lust not after any man’s wealth.

But he who sees everywhere the Self in all existences and all
existences in the Self, shrinks not thereafter from aught

He who knows That as both in one, the Birth and the dissolution
of Birth, by the dissolution crosses beyond death and
by the Birth enjoys Immortality.



All is OM: Hari Om. The whole universe is the syllable Om. Following is the exposition of Om. Everything that was, is, or will be is, in truth Om. All else which transcends time, space, and causation is also Om.

That Om, though described as having four states, is indivisible; it is pure Consciousness itself. That Consciousness is Om. The three sounds A-U-M (ah, ou, mm) and the three letters A, U, M are identical with the three states of waking, dreaming, and sleeping, and these three states are identical with the three sounds and letters. The fourth state, Turiya is to be realized only in the silence behind or beyond the other three.

If the slayer thinks that he slays, or if the slain thinks that he is slain, both of these know not. Τhe eternal of man can not kill, the eternal of man can not die

When the five organs of perception become still, together with the mind, and the intellect ceases to be active: that is called the highest state. The teacher now shows Nachiketas the process by which the transcendental vision can be attained. he out–going senses,–seeing, hearing, smelling, touching, tasting; the restless mind and the intellect: all must be indrawn and quieted. The state of equilibrium thus attained is called the highest state, because all the forces of one’s being become united and focused; and this inevitably leads to supersensuous vision.

When all desires dwelling in the heart cease, then the mortal becomes immortal and attains Brahman here.


Whoever knows the God, become God.

Namaste beautiful souls!

Αφήστε μια απάντηση

Η ηλ. διεύθυνση σας δεν δημοσιεύεται. Τα υποχρεωτικά πεδία σημειώνονται με *